Interview: Victoria Schwimley

Today i was given the opportunity to interview the author Victoria Schwimley! I’m currently reading her book Lacy’s End and LOVING IT so expect to see a review soon! But let’s get started!

1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?
  • When I first started writing, it was just for fun. Although I’ve always dreamed of being a writer, having a career in writing wasn’t in the plan. I wrote because I had all these stories running around in my head that I had to get out. Then I wrote a novel just to see if I could do it. I found out I loved it. I joined a website called fanstory.com and started posting short stories and poems. I soon had a following and fans. I was thrilled. Then the Idea hit me that I could publish my stuff professionally and people might actually buy it. That began my writing career. I hope someday to build enough of a fan base that I could actually make a living off my books. I don’t need to be the next Stephen King or Danielle Steele, but I’d like to see some income for the many hours I put into publishing a book. I’m also starting to get into narration. When I told a friend I was looking for a narrator for one of my audiobooks, she said I had a great voice and should do it myself. I’m studying and working on that.                                          

2. Why do you write?

  • I write because I have stories to tell and people who want to read them. If I don’t put my thoughts down on paper, they are stuck in my head. But mostly I write because it brings me pleasure. This is the one piece of me I’ll be able to pass along to future generations in my family.                                                                                                                    

3. When did you become an author?

  • I have wanted to be a writer since I was a child and would read anything I got my hands on. I took creative writing classes in school and made up stories to act out. I was into writing poetry and short stories in high school, and even had a few poems published in the school paper. However, I didn’t become serious about writing until around 2009 when my daughter convinced me I wrote well enough to publish.

4. Do you write full-time or part-time?

  • Currently, I can only write part-time. I have a full-time job, so I only have a couple hours at night to write. I hope I will soon be able to leave my full-time job to focus on writing.
5. Have any author’s inspired you?
  • James Scott Bell. I’ve studied so many of his books on the craft of writing that I’ve become a much stronger writer with his guidance.
6. If Lacy’s end was ever made into a movie which actress would you imagine for Lacy?
  • I could see Emily Kinney (she played Beth Greene on the Walking Dead) playing her. They both have a bit of spunkiness in them that suits Lacy’s character, and she’s about the right size for Lacy. 
7. What do you do when you have writer’s block?
  • I am fortunate thus far to have just the opposite problem. I have too many creative thoughts in my head and not enough time to get them all down. However, when I find myself not sure in which direction I should guide my character; I’ll set aside my writing and take a break. I’ll stop long enough to sew one of my granddaughter’s a dress and then I’m ready to get back to the story
8. Who is your favorite author?
  • You mean aside from myself.. J I’m not really sure I have a favorite author as it really depends on my mood. But, if you’re going to make me choose I think it would be Dean Koontz in his later years— I wasn’t overly fond of his early years.
9. What is your favorite book?
  • Another tough one, but I think the one novel I read that has stayed with me and I recommend most often is Dean Koontz’s Intensity. Despite the shock and trauma this girl suffered, she risked her own life to save someone more vulnerable than she. That’s human compassion at its best.
10. What inspired you to write Lacy’s End?
  • I was in a Bible study class with a good friend and was shocked to learn she had been a victim of domestic abuse. In all the years I’d known her she had never disclosed this part of her past. When I mentioned how surprised I was, she said nobody had known what was going on. Even her own family hadn’t known about the abuse; she had hidden it that well. I knew after that conversation I was going to write a story about domestic violence and how we don’t always see or admit to seeing the pain a friend or family member is in.
 Just want to say thank you so much to Victoria for allowing me to do this interview and i suggest that you guys buy her book! It is $11 on amazon and $2 in the kindle store!!
Leave a Reply

