Book Review: The Hidden Oracle by: Rick Riordan

Good afternoon everyone!! I am back with the third book review of this month! I’ve been reading a ton lately!! As you can see from the title i’ve just finished The Hidden Oracle by: Rick Riordan! And oh boy do I have a lot to say!!

spoilers

I have to say I am quite impressed with this book! After reading The sword of Summer a couple months ago I was really afraid that I wasn’t going to like this book much. But Rick did a very good job continuing the series without destroying it. That is mostly because he hit a home run with Apollo!!!

I have to say that Apollo is probably my favorite character in the entire Percy Jackson universe so far! He has the attitude a god would when they are turned mortal but I really like the ways he changes by the end of the book. Most of the gods seem like they are very cocky and think that mortals aren’t worth it but it’s great to see a god that is mentally (and physically) a human and seeing how they react to having a short lifespan.

One of the things I didn’t really love is that parts of the plot were almost exactly the same. I’ve noticed that most of Rick’s books or series start off with a Demigod getting attacked (The Minotaur thing in The lightning thief, The wind spirits in The Lost hero, The Nosoi in The Hidden oracle) and then finding their way Camp Half blood/Camp Jupiter. I know that it is what the series revolves around but it is starting to get kinda old.

I actually have a question for you guys now, what did you think of Meg? I personally thought that she was kinda annoying. I feel like she was just a bit too much of a brat. THEN I CAN”T EVEN DESCRIBE HOW SHE BETRAYED APOLLO!! I know how Apollo feels for Meg, but I really don’t think that it is worth it going to find her. Especially since it is such a risk considering that “The Wolf” could come at any moment if Meg takes Apollo’s side. I don’t think at the moment it is worth the risk. But who knows I don’t actually know exactly how Apollo feels.

All in all it really wasn’t a bad book at all! I highly suggest that if  you liked any other Rick Riordan book. But if you read mostly YA or Adult books you may not like it as much because it is more of a older middle grade book.

Well I hope you like this review!! Thank you so much for reading! If you would like to see more of what I do be sure you check out my Instagram @Bloggingbooknerd!!! Have a fantastic day!!!

 

Leave a Reply

