Interview: Jennifer L. Kelly

How is everyone doing today? As you can see by the Title of this post I am doing another interview!!! I am so excited to do this with Jennifer because I was given the opportunity to read her book Army of Fire! Be sure to look for it on Amazon and many other places on October 25th 2016!!! So let’s start the interview!!!

1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

My ambitions for my writing career is that someday it can be my sole source of income. I love to write and create. On a deeper level, my goal would be for my books to inspire people to pursue their own love of writing and/or to remind people of the importance of hope. I try to incorporate themes of hope, friendship, and unconditional love in my  of my YA books.

2. Why do you write?

Writing for me is almost a necessity. It is part of who I have become. Sometimes I feel like creativity is being poured into me and that I am bursting at the seams to let it out. I also write because of the process: these characters become my friends and I’m curious to see where their shenanigans will lead them.

3. When did you decide you wanted to be an author?

When I was younger, I’ll say early elementary school because I can’t exactly remember, I used to write and illustrate little books for school projects. When I was a bit older, I got an electric typewriter that I’d try and write my first novel on. As I grew up though, I thought it wasn’t something I could do. Just a lingering wish in the back of my mind. It wasn’t until I was introduced to National Novel Writing Month (NaNoWriMo) in 2013 that I realized I could actually self-publish and go at this in my own way and just see what happened. That was a long answer. I guess the short answer is always. 🙂

4. Do you write full time or part-time?

Currently, I write part-time, but I wish it was full-time! Right now I’ve been a middle school teacher full-time for over 8 years. I’m getting antsy. But I read somewhere it takes 10 years to become “an overnight” success (because most people won’t stick it out), so in regards to my writing I only have 7 more years to go!

5. Have any authors inspired you?

As a very young kid I loved Ann M. Martin and Lois Lowry. They were big influences in both my writing and my love of books in general. In terms of my writing itself: Ally Condie, Melissa Marr, JK Rowling, Veronica Roth, and Suzanne Collins. Just these amazing YA authors who created these insane fantasy and/or dystopian worlds. When I began writing, I definitely began to notice their influence on me. To be able to create these detailed worlds and these dynamic characters who develop into heroes over the course of a series is a feat to be admired. (Specifically, series like Matched, Wicked Lovely, Harry Potter, Divergent, and Hunger Games.)

6. If Army of Fire was ever made into a movie which actress would you imagine for Ka?

Oh man, this is such a good question! I did a casting for The Lucia Chronicles on my Pinterest, but not for The Elementals. Hmmm. I am not hip enough on TV/movies these days, but I kind of would almost want an actress who hasn’t been in a starring role yet. She’d have to be quiet, a bit awkward, but also fierce. Brown hair and brown eyes, kind of shy, but a bit sarcastic when provoked….I am open to suggestions! You tell me!

7. What do you do when you have writer’s block?

This is actually a rare occurrence for me, probably because I am what I call a binge writer.  I write intensively for short bursts of time, usually a month sometimes two. I’m also a pantser, so until I get deep into a series I do no planning. But if it does happen or I’m at a loss as to how to describe something, I turn on some epic music (on my YouTube I have a “Writing Music” public playlist) and scroll Pinterest for setting and character ideas. Also, sleeping is a good idea. I’ve incorporated many dreams into my writing because my dreams are crazy!

8. Do you have a favorite author?

As a child, I loved Lois Lowry. For fun, quick reads I turn to Janet Evanovich. Right now, I recently finished The Raven Cycle and immediately went out and bought all of Maggie Stiefvater’s other books! She is amazing and I am so beyond excited for a Ronan trilogy (even if Gansey is my book boyfriend). I also just finished The Lunar Chronicles and found out Marissa Meyer will be at a local library promoting Heartless and I kind of ran around the house screaming in excitement.

9. Do you have a favorite book or Series?

The Giver, The Time Traveler’s Wife, Harry Potter (always and forever), The Raven Cycle, and The Love That Split the World.

 

10. What inspired you to write Army of Fire and The Earth key??

Actually, it was a picture. I think it is on my Pinterest somewhere. It is an illustration of a man standing in a room looking out at these five portals. For me what happens is an image will stick in my mind, then my imagination will kind of run with it, so actually I could be remembering it completely wrong. But those five portals became the five portals Ka travels to in the Elemental Abyss.

Well thank you so much Jennifer for answering these questions for me! It was so great working on this with you! If you would like to check out her blog click here!! Also if you would like to check out her instagram it’s @authorjenniferlkelly!!!!

Be sure to check out her newest book Army of Fire which is being released on October 25th and some of her other work!!! I hope you liked this interview and don’t forget to check out my Instagram @Bloggingbooknerd!!! I hope that you are having a fantastic day!

 

Leave a Reply

