Interview: Arnulfo Cantarero

Hello, everyone! Today as you can tell (well, that is if you read the title) I am interviewing Arnulfo Cantarero the author of Emotions. Be sure to check out his book here! Let’s get right into it!

1. What are your ambitions for your writing career?

To become a bestselling author. I know it’ll be a hard trek, no illusions there, but to have people read my stories (and want more), and to one day see those stories on the big screen. That’s the dream.

2. Why do you write?

When I write I can live several different lives at once. I can create the reality my characters are living in and the challenges and situations that I’ll never see in the real world. On top of that, if I can take readers to this world and leave them wanting more, all the better.

3. When did you decide you wanted to be an author?

I was in college, starting some kind of project, and realized that I would rather be on my laptop writing up a story than wire a circuit board. It was then that I realized that writing was my true goal. I took my laptop and started writing my first book, and loved every minute of it. To this day, I always take a laptop, or a large phone, so I have access to a keyboard in case I’m in a situation where I can write.

4. Do you write full-time or part-time?

As of right now, part time. The moment my books start paying my bills, though… Well, needless to say, I’ll be going to work in my pj’s and have a one-minute commute.

5. Have any authors inspired you?

More than a few. Jim Butcher, Stephen King, Arthur C Clarke, and  Stephanie Meyer. I admire how they gave in to their passion and became successes. Stephen King especially was inspiring. What that man had to go through to become a full-time writer. His story is inspiring to anybody that believes becoming a writer is too hard. We have options he didn’t have, and he never gave up on his dream.

6. If Emotions was ever made into a movie who would you imagine as Jason?

Excellent question. I always believe that when Emotions becomes a movie, I’d rather it be a star maker than a star vehicle. Discover a great new talent and give them a shot at the big time. We all deserve that one big break, and if my book helps an aspiring actor, all the better.

7. What do you do when you have writer’s block?

Believe it or not, I put on the T.V, something Sci-Fi usually, and I let my mind wonder. Something in the show will prompt a connection  in my head and next thing I know, I’m writing like there’s no tomorrow.

8. Do you have a favorite author?

Rick Riordan for sure. I love the entire Percy Jackson series and the Heroes of Olympus. I didn’t even know the series existed until I saw the movie. The books are way better, of course, but when he comes up with something new, I’m usually right there getting the book.

9. Do you have a favorite book or Series?

I’d say the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher. While not a YA title (even though Jim Dresden may act like a kid at times) I love how in that series magic is real and it’s all around us. That’s another series that I pick up the moment a new book is out.

10. What inspired you to write Emotions?

Well, when I was a kid, I was a big nerd (not that anything’s changed) but I grew up in a country where being a nerd made you extremely unpopular. Science fiction, reading for fun, not exactly things kids did voluntarily. Needless to say, my best escape was my imagination, and I would imagine how people’s actions would appear to say, an alien, what they would think of the whole situation. Then I saw Star Trek, and I imagined this alien with no emotions. I played with the idea for a while until college, and that’s when the whole concept and story came to mind.

Well that it! Once again thank you so much Arnulfo for answering these questions!! Be sure to check out his book Emotions here! Thank you so much for reading, if you would like to see more from me be sure to check out my Instagram @bloggingbooknerd! I hope you have a great day!

Leave a Reply

