Book Review: Throne of Glass by: Sarah J. Maas

Goodmorning! I just recently finished my 18th book this year and now it’s time for me to review it! Today I will be reviewing Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas! I’ve owned this book for months but never got around to reading it, that’s why I’m so happy that I finally finished it! And oh boy do I have a lot to say!

spoilers

First off I’m just going to say my initial reaction. WOW. I’m not a huge fan of High Fantasy so when I first heard about this book I was a little hesitant to read it. But I’m really happy I did. I’ve always had a liking for competition style book (Kinda like The Hunger Games) so reading the first chapter to learn that it was mostly just about the competition made me really happy. But I really wish that there had been more to the competition instead of just a few challenges. I feel like there was so much potential with it instead of just a bunch of training but those training scenes did give us a chance to learn a lot more about our characters!

Now the characters. Sarah did an amazing job on them! It was really great to see how Celeana changed her views on people like Dorian and Choal and how they changed once they got to know and trust her more.  It was easy to see how Choal didn’t trust Celeana at all at the beginning considering that he wouldn’t let her out of his sight while around other people but as they trained together it was as if a piece of paper was slowly burning as the fire spread across the page. It kept me wondering, was Choal in love with her? Would he still kill her in a heartbeat? I will have absolutely no clue until I am able to finish Crown of Midnight. But I know for sure one person who will love Celeana for the foreseeable future (even if they broke up).

Dorian and Celeana. What to say about them. To be completely honest I shipped them from the start. When they first met in Endovier in that throne room all those pages ago I knew that Celeana hated Dorian’s guts, but she admitted that she thought he was attractive. Who knows what was going on in his mind at that point but as the chapters flew by Dorian started to admit that he liked her and that is the official moment that I began swirling into another ship that was not meant to be. I was fully for them dating and knew that Dorian was probably the best man for Celeana (at the moment) so when they broke up for a good reason actually I just rolled into a ball of sadness. Both Dorian and Celeana will find better people someday but for now, I will mourn the death of that great ship.

Finally, we have the people (and events) that just got on my nerves and keep me questioning. First, WHAT HAPPENED TO NOX!!. He was such an important part of the book and then Celeana told him to leave and POOF gone. Will he come back later on? Hopefully. Next, we have the most annoying character Lady Kaltain. I always hated her and her attitude throughout the entire book but when she followed Duke Perrington’s every order that broke the only semblance of hope I had for her. Now she is in prison where she belongs for doing what she did. Lastly, we have the brute that has been clogging my mind since I started writing this review. Cain.  I hated his character more than I should have because he was just a big brute who everyone assumed would win because he was the strongest. That is not true in so many situations and it gets on my nerves. I could go on and on about him and so many other parts of the book (like how Queen Elena comes out of nowhere and how Nehemia knew magic and did so much stuff) but it’s time that I stop ranting because that is really what this review has come to.

Thank you so much for reading this review! I highly suggest checking out this book (only if you want your life to be ruined). If you would like to see more from me be sure to check out the rest of my blog and my Instagram @bloggingbooknerd. I hope that you have a fantastic day!!

Leave a Reply

