Book Review: Army Of Fire by Jennifer L. Kelly

Sorry, I’ve been gone for so long everyone! But I’m back with another book review! Today as you can see by the title I’m reviewing Jennifer L. Kelly’s newest novel Army of Fire! So let’s get right into it then!

*I was sent this book in exchange for an honest review*

spoilers

There are so many things to say, good and bad, about this book. I don’t even know where to start! So I’ll just start off with the only thing that made me dislike this book even the slightest book.

If you have ever read Divergent you know that Tris had to choose one of the 5 factions where she will live for the rest of her life. In Army of Fire Ka has to choose between 5 elements that she will become and live like for the rest of her life. There a quite a few other similarities that also messed with me a little. Overall this may have affected the way I read this book but I doubt that it should affect yours.

Even if the similarities between books upset me a little that doesn’t affect how much I loved the plot and all of the characters. Actually, Jennifer did an AMAZING job with characterization in Army of Fire! I know from my own personal writing that introducing many characters then having only a few of those characters stay in the story is not an easy feat. On top of that, she spent the perfect amount of time characterizing the major characters and the smaller characters. I applaud Jennifer for the characters like Ka and Sloan.

Speaking of Sloan and Ka there are a couple of reasons why their relationship is great and also quite weird. First, I always kinda knew they would get together because of how he was always there and always in Ka’s mind. The only thing that felt weird about that relationship is that he was her teacher! In the U.S. that may not be illegal because she is 18 but it is still very very awkward to date a past teacher! Am I the only one who has a problem with that?

All in all, I have to say this is probably one of the best Sci-Fi books I’ve ever read. I’m not a huge fan of Sci-Fi so when I find a series that I like I have to share it with the world! I really hope you liked this review! If you want to see more from me check out my other posts and my Instagram @Bloggingbooknerd. If you would like to buy Army of Fire click here or check barnesandnobles.com! I hope that you are having a fantastic day and will have a fantastic week!

Leave a Reply

