Book Review: The Hammer of Thor by: Rick Riordan

Before I start I just want to say that I’m sorry that it took so long to get this review out! It’s been a few weeks since I finished this book but I just haven’t been able to write a review! Now as you can see by the title I am reviewing The Hammer of Thor by: Rick Riordan.

spoilers

To start off I’m going to talk about the one thing that really REALLY upset me about this book, Loki. Ever since I saw Thor in 2012 I’ve had a love for Loki (and Tom Hiddleston!) and I’ve always seen him as a slightly bad guy (or misunderstood). It was really hard for me to read this book with Loki being an Asshole because of this. I was hoping that he would be similar to how he was in the first book! I guess I’ll just have to deal with Loki being the main villain in this series.

Other than that small detail, I really liked this book! It had an interesting plot, lots of well-characterized characters, and a lot of diversity! Well, the diversity was a bit of a problem. If you’ve read this book you’ll now that there is a new character, Alex. He/She is a gender fluid teenager. I am totally ok with that it’s just that Rick was trying way too hard to include it. It would have been a lot better if he hadn’t just flat out said that he was gender fluid but if he had included some buildup to it.

All in all, I highly suggest reading this book! I have been reading Rick’s books since I was 8 so seeing that he is still writing decent books 8 years later! I hope you liked this review!

Most of the time this would be the end of the post. But a little while ago it was my 1 year anniversary of this blog! I want to thank you all for how far I’ve come! I hope that as I continue growing you guys will stay with me! now it’s time for my usual ending to my posts!

If you would like to see more from me be sure to check out my other posts and my Instagram @bloggingbooknerd! I hope that you are having a fantastic day!

Leave a Reply

