Book Review: Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard

Hello everyone! As you can tell by the title I am finally doing my review of Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard!

spoilers

As always I go straight to the thing that killed me the most, and I bet anyone who has read the book can guess what that is. MAVEN. I hate to say it but I really really loved Maven more than Cal in the first book so having him become the villain and be a terrible person in this book destroyed me. To be completely honest I hoped (and still kinda hope) that Maven will change and Mare will get back together with Maven in the end. I feel terrible that I like Maven still. It’s similar to how I feel about Loki in the Avengers franchise.

Second, Victoria if you ever see this I have an important message from anyone who has read this series. STOP KILLING OFF CHARACTERS LIKE SHADE ALL THE TIME. First, he was killed while in the army then BAM END OF BOOK ONE AND HES BACK. Then during the second book, you get attached to him as a brother you wish you had (and Farley liked him a lot also) but NO HE HAS TO DIE AGAIN. When I found out Shade had died I was pissed and wished that Mare had died instead. I know Mare is the main character and all but I really started to hate her in the end.

I understand that anyone who went through what Mare went through would be a little messed up but that doesn’t mean you PUS EVERYONE YOU LOVE AWAY. First, it was her family when she left them to find all the newbloods. Then she goes a bit crazy about getting to the other newbloods before Maven does and she treats her friends like shit. THEN BY THE END, SHE PUSHES CAL THE ONLY PERSON WHO WOULD STAY WITH HER AND THEN SHE ENDS UP BASICALLY ALONE.  I personally think she deserved ending up alone the way she was but nooooOOOoo SHE HAD TO GET ON THE PLANE AND CAL HAD TO STILL CARE ABOUT HER. As you can tell I’m still very mad about the ending. I’m happy that she realized what she had turned into and sacrificed herself for Cal and everyone else. I’m even surprised that Maven left Cal be. If it were me and If I was the dictator he is trying to be I would have taken Cal AND Mare. But It’s obvious that Maven actually did love Mare even though his mother was creating the monster he is. I have a feeling that when this series ends Maven will either get killed or fall for Mare like he should have already.

There is always one thing in every book I have a problem with. For this book, it is simply that it was very slow. By the end, there was so much going on that it turned out great! But the first 200 pages were SOOOOOOOOO long. I’m praying that King’s Cage moves faster cause if it doesn’t I don’t know if I’ll be able to finish it.

There you go! My review of Glass Sword by Victoria Aveyard! If you would like to see more reviews from me be sure to check out the Reviews tab! While you’re at it check out my Instagram @Bloggingbooknerd! I hope that you are having a fantastic Sunday and have a fantastic week!

Leave a Reply

